Charities Committee

The Charities Committee disburses the proceeds from the $8.00 per month charitable donation of teachers. The committee consists of 12 members, six of whom are elected each year, making it a two-year commitment, meeting five times a year. The members are Directors of the Calgary Separate School Teachers’ Charities Society. This committee’s mandate is to give financial assistance to those programs which directly aid young people physically, spiritually and/or educationally.

                                      Membership 2019 -2020

John DeSorcy 2019-21
Michelle Hayden 2018-20
Donna Jensen 2018-20
Gloria Lateef 2018-20
Kathleen Murphy 2018-20
Kelly Schmitz 2019-21
Jim Setterington 2019-21
Hal Soby 2019-21
Kathryn Soby 2019-21
Lisa Webb 2018-20
Cynthia Yacey 2018-20



ATA 55 Charitable Donation Form

Discovery House Catholic Family Services Charities Committee has supported many organizations including:

  • Between Friends
  • Brown Bagging It
  • Calgary Interfaith Food Bank
  • Calgary Women’s Emergency Shelter
  • Camp Cadicasu
  • Catholic Family Services
  • Camp Horizon
  • Can Learn
  • Catholic Immigration Society
  • Child Advocacy Center
  • Community Kitchen
  • Development and Peace (Philippine relief)
  • FANS (Boys and Girls Club)
  • Inn from the Cold
  • Kids help Phone
  • L’Arche Society
  • Learning Partnership (Welcome to Kindergarten)
  • Linkages
  • Mustard Seed
  • Our Lady of Victory Camp
  • ProLife
  • Ronald McDonald House
  • Vincent de Paul Society
  • Catholic Family Services
  • St. Vincent de Paul Society